Explore the Nano World 

 Wen's Research Group​

Wen Zhang, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

Principal Investigator

Phone: (973) 596-5520 
Fax: (973) 596-5790
Email: wen.zhang@njit.edu

Office Location: Colton Hall 211

Find us on the map: 

    Princeton University chemist and Nobel Prize winner David W.C. MacMillan heads list of honorees for 2022 Edison Patent Awards at at 43rd Annual Edison Patent Awards. 

Dr. Zhang’s patent, Microwave-assisted Antifouling Membrane Filtration System, U.S. Patent 10,583,402, was recognized for the 2022 Edison Patent Award  at the Council’s 43rd Edison Patent Awards Ceremony, which honors the best and the brightest of the state’s innovators and patent holders. This award gives New Jersey’s top researchers the opportunity to be connected and to learn from one another about the tremendous research and development being done in the state. 

       In addition, 54 inventors representing 14 patents awarded to New Jersey companies and universities including BASF, Celularity, Inc., Colgate-Palmolive, Ethicon, Inc. – a Johnson & Johnson Company, Kulite Semiconductor Products, Inc., Merck, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, Rowan University, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Siemens Healthineers, Siemens Technology, and Stryker. The recognized patents range from consumer plastic packaging that can be recycled to an unmanned vehicle that can seamlessly move from underwater into the air. Winners were selected by a team of R&D Council researchers who evaluated patents for the significance of the problem, utility/socioeconomic value, novelty and commercial impact. All winning patents must have at least part of the technical/scientific work completed in New Jersey. 

See the full interaview video: https://vimeo.com/rdcouncilofnj/review/762465573/7862314d72 (Password: edison)
A full version of the Edison Award Brochure is available for view:

Dr. MacMillan was awarded the Science and Technology Medal at the 2022 Edison Patent Awards, the highest honor given out at the annual event sponsored by the Research & Development Council of New Jersey. Health Commissioner Judith Persichilli (Chairman’s Award) and state Senate Majority Leader Teresa Ruiz (Educator of the Year) also will receive individual honors.

    The Research & Development Council of New Jersey (www.rdnj.org) established the Edison Patent Award to honor Thomas Edison’s incredible legacy and to use his name to honor successor New Jersey inventors and the research organizations that drive innovation and continue to position New Jersey as a global innovator.  Not only does this award allow inventors throughout the state to celebrate the achievements of other R&D colleagues, it also publicizes to the greater public, media and policymakers, the substantial and positive societal impact of New Jersey’s R&D accomplishments.  This recognition program is a cornerstone to the Council’s mission to collaborate among industry, academia and government to grow and strengthen STEM in education, innovation and the economy.

       Kevin Campos, chairman of the R&D Council board of directors and vice president, head of process research and development at Merck, said “the event shines a spotlight on the innovation and discovery that is taking place in New Jersey and the Edison Patent Awards is once again uplifting the inventors and companies that make New Jersey a global innovation leader.” He also said. “Thomas Edison’s legacy lives on through the 57 honorees who are driving innovation and changing the world right here in the Garden State.”

2022 Edison Patent Award Winners

​​2022 Edison Patent Award Winners

It is an event to celebrate the achievements of those who work to change the world as we know it-what a celebration it is.  Together with Dr. Wen Zhang, the NJIT’s president Dr. Teik Lim and  NJIT First Lady, Mrs. Gina Lim as well as Interim Provost and Senior Executive Vice President, Dr. Atam Dhawan, CEE Department Chair, Dr. Taha Marhaba and a few other NJIT staff members and industrial collaborator attended this award ceremony.

   The entire ceremony with remarks from everyone as well as all the videos is viewed here: https://vimeo.com/showcase/9966572.